top of page

New coalition and recent ToT training!

Hello!

I just wanted to take the time to tell you guys about what I’ve been up to for the past few months! There are 2 main topics that I want to touch upon: coalition meetings (while at school!!) and my recent CADCA ToT (training to be a trainer for CADCA) training in Arlington, Virginia.

As most of you might know, I attended CADCA’s 2016 Mid-year and went through my first ToT then! It was my first big step to becoming an official youth trainer for CADCA. During this conference, I met a lot of incredible people who inspired me and continue to inspire me every single day.

I learned many lessons during this training, but there are two specific ones that I want to share with everyone right now:

  1. Make contacts. Talk to people. Be curious.

  2. Know how to keep in touch with people

  3. Have clear communication skills and MAINTAIN the relationships that you form with people.

These lessons tie in to the next part of my story that I want to tell you about.

One of the people that I met during the 2016 Mid-Year training, now a close friend of mine, just happens to live 45 minutes away from my school. Instantly, it clicked in my head that he probably knows the coalitions near my school. I spoke with him about the matter and obtained some contacts from him. I was ecstatic. All of this meant that I could keep attending coalition meetings while at school and do what I love: impact my community in a positive way through substance abuse prevention and awareness.

Fast forward a few months and a few phone calls later, I was ready to attend my first coalition meeting while at school! This was a huge deal for me because during my freshman year, I was not able to attend coalition meetings for months on end because I attend a school in Massachusetts. Meanwhile the coalition that I’ve worked with for years is back in California. It’s been an exciting adventure so far, and I’m excited to grow with this coalition and see how PANDAA can play a role in the process.

Finally, the second topic I wanted to write about: my ToT training in January! In the middle of January, I took part in a rigorous training with trainers from the CADCA training team. In this training, I, along with 11 other trainers of training, worked hours on end with the CADCA training team on how to become trainers and leaders for CADCA. I had the opportunity to practice my presentation skills on CADCA’s training material and work closely with many members of the training team. I also had the unique opportunity to become close with my fellow ToT’s. I knew a few of them at the beginning of the training, but towards the end, everyone felt like family.

Despite the lack of sleep and the hours of work, this was one of the best weekends of my life. And I realize that that’s a strong statement. The thing is, it didn’t feel like work. Because it was genuine. And I think that’s what this, coalition work, is all about: collaborating with others for the shared desired to better communities, working selflessly, being courageous, and loving every second of it.

I can proudly say that I’ve found my team and people who I can call my own. I’m inspired by my peers and their how passionate they are. And I’m blessed to be able to take part in the work that I do, inspired by the people that I meet, and grateful for the opportunities that I'm given.

Click here to view some of my pictures from this weekend. There will be more soon!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page