top of page

Life update: new school

Hello. It’s been quite a while since I last wrote a “daily observation” on here. I first wanted to thank you for your patience with me. There numerous events that take place every day that could be written as “daily observations” but to be honest, I got caught up in school and life.

Before I begin to continue Daily Observations again, I want to present a brief summary of the past nine months. I began attending a school in Massachusetts in early September and it did take a whole nine months to learn the ropes, academically and socially. My school has a strict drug and alcohol policy, meaning if a student is caught using or in the possession of these substances, it could result in that student being asked to leave. Whenever an incident would happen at school regarding substance abuse, it would shake the entire community. At times school can feel like a bubble: you see the same people, attend the same classes, play on the same fields, and hear the same piece of gossip for nine months. It’s not hard to get caught up in this bubble and forget about the outside world.

Outside of my bubble at school, in the real world, many events have taken place in the past nine months that deserve to be noted. These events include the tragic death (due to fentanyl overdose) of Prince earlier this year. This death was one of the 200,000 deaths that has occurred due to some type of drug abuse. (Here’s a link if you are interested in learning more about these rates http://www.drugfree.org/join-together/drug-abuse-kills-200000-people-each-year-un-report/).

There are a lot of events that are taking place this summer, and I’ll be keeping everyone updated through these posts.

​Fatima Rashid


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page